Regular Meeting

July 16, 2002


The Board of Supervisor met in Session on the above date with the following members present: O’Farrell, Peterson, Condon, Kirkberg and Chairperson Magnusson.


Moved by O’Farrell, seconded by Peterson to approve minutes of July 9, 2002 meeting.  Motion carried unanimously.


Moved by Peterson, seconded by Condon to approve employment of Pamela Crouch, Office Manager for Webster County Disabilities Alliance at the rate of $10.00 per hour, per recommendation of Irene Blair.  Motion carried unanimously.


Moved by Condon, seconded by Kirkberg to approve and authorize Chair to Five Day Class B Beer Permit for Daybreak Rotary Club of Fort Dodge, Iowa.  Motion carried unanimously.


Moved by Kirkberg, seconded by O’Farrell to approve and authorize Chair to sign the following Resolution: 




                Motion by Kirkberg, Seconded by O’Farrell to authorize temporary closure of the following Secondary Road:


                Township:             Gowrie


                Section:                  Between 11 & 12


                Address:                                Fairbanks Avenue, Gowrie, Iowa Between 355 & 360th Street


                Closed:                   July 10, 2002 for approximately 2 to 3 days.


                Time:                      1:00 p.m.


                Reason:                  Railroad working on rebuilding crossing


Motion Carried


S/Floyd A. Magnusson, Chairman                                                                                                   Date:  7/16/02

Board of Supervisors




S/Carol Messerly, Auditor

Webster County, Iowa


Motion carried unanimously.


Earnest Dutcher and Brian Kinne discussed a petition to establish rural water district in accordance with Iowa Code Chapter 357.  Jake Hansen from Midas discussed the process of applying for Community Development Block Grant funds and what is necessary to submit a pre-application.  The funding is very competitive.  It appears that they probably met the low to moderate income requirement, but the cost ratio is high in that only approximately sixteen families will be served and at this point no other money for a local match has been shown and usually IDED likes to see a two to one part match.  Also, the plan is vague in that total cost figures including hook ups is not included in the plan.


Moved by O’Farrell, seconded by Peterson to receive and place on file Petition to Establish a Water District, to set the amount of bond at $7,500.00 and to set 11:30a.m. on July 30, 2002 at the time and date for hearing on said petition, provided that the appropriate bond is timely filed.  Motion carried unanimously.


Dan Miller Xenia Rural Water, discussed the Preliminary Engineer’s Report for providing rural water service in Webster County and the inclusion of Hardin Township into a rural water district. No action taken.


At 10:30a.m. a Public Hearing to appoint County Attorney was held.  Chairperson Magnusson reported that Timothy Schott was the only application submitted.  Steven Hall and Jennifer Robertson spoke favorably for Mr. Schott’s appointment.  No further comments and no objections having been heard, it was moved by O’Farrell, seconded by Peterson to adopt the following resolution:




Be it hereby resolved, that a vacancy having occurred in the office of the Webster County Attorney due to the death of Webster County Attorney Ronald Robertson on June 27, 2002, the Board of Supervisors hereby appoints Timothy N. Schott to the office of Webster County Attorney.  This appointment is until a certificate of election is issued from the results of the general election on November 5, 2002 pursuant to Iowa Code § 69.14A.  This appointment shall be as a full-time county attorney, and shall be compensated in accordance with the annual salary for the position for the Fiscal Year 2002-2003 previously approved by the Board at its meeting of June 25, 2002.  This appointment shall take effect immediately.


S/Floyd A. Magnusson, Chairman

Board of Supervisors


Roll call vote:  Ayes – O’Farrell, Peterson, Condon, Kirkberg and Magnusson.  Nays – none.  Motion carried unanimously.


Moved by Peterson, seconded by Condon to allow Claims.  Motion carried unanimously.


Moved and seconded the meeting adjourned.